Page 9 of 9

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 6:19 am
by Artiz1
All I needed was a reliable power source:
Image

But what I still get is ping or operation or whatever timeouts... I can connect to the car for a short period of time and then I get disconnected. It's enough for me to read the fault codes and some sensor data (if I'm quick to press buttons), but it still is annoying. Could it be a problem with port settings ( I did try various configurations) or a problem with the KKL Vag-com cord?

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 9:59 pm
by wilco
it could be the port setup. You have to set the latency of the port as low as possible in devicemanager- port name properties.
but i am aware of some car just random disconnect.. it is a very delicate communication and if the pc answers 1 ms too late, the ECU will disconnect.. so many errors possible that create a little slower answer.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:54 am
by MartyP75
Hi !
I bought a 1994 164 LS V6 24valves with only 27 000 KM.

It only has 1 problem it's the airbag light is on.

So I downloaded Wilc's program, and bought the USB to OBD2 (fiat-alfa one with the switch) and the OBD2 to 3 pins connectos.

It has 12v power from the battery directly.

Sometime I can connect. Yellow will flash and then quickly the 3 lights will flash and then nothing anymore.

It gives me the ECU number but it doesn't give me any data.

I'm plug into the the 3 pin connector fro the center console.
I'm on port 5, anything I can do to solve this problem ?

Also there is another 3 pin connector (yellow) on the passenger side right under the glove box by the foot well, what is it ?

Thanks for your help, I can't wait to get it inspected and drive this baby !

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:14 am
by alfa east
Welcome Marty! Hope you can introduce yourself and your car in a bit more detail in the "Introduction"-topic. Amazingly low mileage!

On your questions I can only hope some of the more technical guys on the forum here can help you.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:54 am
by Alfan
Welcome :) Since you write 'LS', I assume you have a US version. I don't think that should change anything regarding the airbag, though.

In my Q4 the airbag diagnostic plug is on the right hand side in the passenger footwell, behind the panel next to the A-pillar. The one in the centre console would be for the Motronic engine ECU. If you set it to your version of the Motronic, I think you will get some kind of connection through that plug.

And yes, a presentation of your car with photos would be great :)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:03 pm
by MartyP75
Alright ! Finally Connected the right wires. and YES I can read the codes, but I cant delete them.

Could someone help me out with these codes.
20170620_184746.jpg


Thanks !

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:20 pm
by Alfan
I cannot comment on what the error is specifically related to, could be a sensor or the ECU.

Do you mean that they don't disappear from the screen, when you press 'Clear errorcodes' or that they return when you turn ignition on again?

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:35 am
by MartyP75
The light doesn't go away, and the code dont disapear, either.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:48 am
by Alfan
I will rephrase a little :)

If the code does not disappear from the screen, something is not correct in the program.

If the code reappears and the light comes on after turning ignition on again, you need to replace whichever defective part is in the system. If the airbag system has detected an error (which is not intermittent), then the light will stay on, until it is fixed.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:00 pm
by Romuald
Hello! I can not open the program.

Image