Page 9 of 9

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 6:19 am
by Artiz1
All I needed was a reliable power source:
Image

But what I still get is ping or operation or whatever timeouts... I can connect to the car for a short period of time and then I get disconnected. It's enough for me to read the fault codes and some sensor data (if I'm quick to press buttons), but it still is annoying. Could it be a problem with port settings ( I did try various configurations) or a problem with the KKL Vag-com cord?

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 9:59 pm
by wilco
it could be the port setup. You have to set the latency of the port as low as possible in devicemanager- port name properties.
but i am aware of some car just random disconnect.. it is a very delicate communication and if the pc answers 1 ms too late, the ECU will disconnect.. so many errors possible that create a little slower answer.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:54 am
by MartyP75
Hi !
I bought a 1994 164 LS V6 24valves with only 27 000 KM.

It only has 1 problem it's the airbag light is on.

So I downloaded Wilc's program, and bought the USB to OBD2 (fiat-alfa one with the switch) and the OBD2 to 3 pins connectos.

It has 12v power from the battery directly.

Sometime I can connect. Yellow will flash and then quickly the 3 lights will flash and then nothing anymore.

It gives me the ECU number but it doesn't give me any data.

I'm plug into the the 3 pin connector fro the center console.
I'm on port 5, anything I can do to solve this problem ?

Also there is another 3 pin connector (yellow) on the passenger side right under the glove box by the foot well, what is it ?

Thanks for your help, I can't wait to get it inspected and drive this baby !

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:14 am
by alfa east
Welcome Marty! Hope you can introduce yourself and your car in a bit more detail in the "Introduction"-topic. Amazingly low mileage!

On your questions I can only hope some of the more technical guys on the forum here can help you.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:54 am
by Alfan
Welcome :) Since you write 'LS', I assume you have a US version. I don't think that should change anything regarding the airbag, though.

In my Q4 the airbag diagnostic plug is on the right hand side in the passenger footwell, behind the panel next to the A-pillar. The one in the centre console would be for the Motronic engine ECU. If you set it to your version of the Motronic, I think you will get some kind of connection through that plug.

And yes, a presentation of your car with photos would be great :)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:03 pm
by MartyP75
Alright ! Finally Connected the right wires. and YES I can read the codes, but I cant delete them.

Could someone help me out with these codes.
20170620_184746.jpg
Thanks !

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:20 pm
by Alfan
I cannot comment on what the error is specifically related to, could be a sensor or the ECU.

Do you mean that they don't disappear from the screen, when you press 'Clear errorcodes' or that they return when you turn ignition on again?

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:35 am
by MartyP75
The light doesn't go away, and the code dont disapear, either.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:48 am
by Alfan
I will rephrase a little :)

If the code does not disappear from the screen, something is not correct in the program.

If the code reappears and the light comes on after turning ignition on again, you need to replace whichever defective part is in the system. If the airbag system has detected an error (which is not intermittent), then the light will stay on, until it is fixed.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:00 pm
by Romuald
Hello! I can not open the program.

Image

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:41 pm
by DanLepus
Hello guys,

I'm new around here. I've bought a 164 to hava a daily/project car. The mechanics can't communicate to the ECU (several machines/programs used) so I want to try Wilco's software. The problem is that the links are not working. The host server is down and I can't find the software and driver for the cable anywhere.

Any help would be appreciated!


Thanks,


Edit: Nevermind, I was looking at the wrong page. I now have everything I need but I can't still make connection...

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:21 am
by tonza
Hi,

I have started to put my -89 164 back on the road. I would like to read codes and data from sensors, but I seem to get no values at all with the software. It seems to connect and I get the ecu indentification, but then I also get "unknown" and ecu number below the "deivce found" message. Live data page goes through the selected values (they flash blue) but it wont give any value.

Should it be working like this or is it not seeing my ecu? Can anyone help with this, thanks!

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:20 pm
by beeton
I hope this doesn't seem like a waste of your time by me asking this. I want to clear my light as well (turned ignition to acc when dash disconnected....darn). I have downloaded the programs on the first page but, and again, hope this isn't soooo simple that I am wasting your time,
what platform will this work on
what cable do I need to buy? I ask because I am reading about a few different cables

Thanks again.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 2:19 pm
by Alfan
Cables should be like these, at least regarding number of pins (I cannot say if these specific ones will work):
https://www.ebay.com/itm/3-Pin-to-16-Pi ... 2987995939
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/153166266072

Regarding airbag light (if this is what your problem is), there are 2 different systems, which is also mentioned in Wilco's program. You can also try Multiecuscan, but I think you need to buy it, to clear error codes. The same cables are to be used for that program.

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Thu May 14, 2020 7:41 pm
by Marek_Kor
I was able to connect to my Q4 using lonelec cables as described in this thread. No issues at all. I connected to Airbag and ECU so far.
Is there any explanation of error numbers i.e. "type' 'condition1' etc? I understand that 'counter' is the number of stored occurrences of a particular condition. Here is example of my ECU reading (all gone after clearing)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 4:30 pm
by Alfan
I don't recall what 'Condition' is for, but don't think I have used it for anything when testing. Good to know that you got it to work and have been able to erase codes :)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 6:08 pm
by HaydnW92
Hi guys,

I noticed that the download link for the 164 diagnostics software is broken/unavailable.

diagnostics/index.php

I'd like to download the software to help me to diagnose the ABS warning light on my 24v Cloverleaf. If anyone can provide it, or if the download link can be repaired/replaced, that would be great. It's a very handy piece of software :D

Haydn

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 6:27 pm
by Alfan
I tried the links in the very first post of this thread, and they work for me...

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 7:12 pm
by HaydnW92
Alfan, you're right. Hopefully if someone else encounters the one in the link I posted, they'll find this thread and try the other ones instead.

Thanks. :)

Haydn